2020 Pinewood Derby a Racing Success!

 In Community News, Council News

Piedmont Cub Scouts competed in the annual Pinewood Derby on Saturday, February 1st, at the Piedmont Community Church. 108 Cub Scout boys and girls participated in the race with family and friends cheering.

The Pinewood Derby Chairman, Rob Kobal, along with parent and youth volunteers, helped ensure a successful event. Days and weeks before, the kids created their unique cars out of a block of wood to create the fastest car. Cars competed based on speed and there were awards for creativity, including Most Creative, Coolest Car, Best Craftmanship, Best Use of Materials, Dream Machine, The Streamline Award, and Most Unique.

This year’s Derby was held in honor of the late James Obando; who, in 1968, built the wooden track which is still in use today. His family was honored at the recent Parent Race on 1/25, where Mike Obando, James’ son, was presented with a certificate which read: James is honored “for his dedication to the Cub Scouting Program through his volunteer efforts and building of the Piedmont Pinewood Derby track. We Thank him for his service and honor his memory.” The wooden track symbolizes the time-honored tradition of this event that promotes creativity, friendly competition and fosters skills in our youth to create and execute a project and see it through to the finish line!

2020 Pinewood Derby Cub Scout Race Results:

Lions/Tigers (K-1st Grade)

1st: Ethan Liu

2nd: Charlie Voboril

3rd: Blake Mellers

Most Creative: James Wilson

Coolest Car: Finnegan McKenna

Best Craftsmanship: Leopoldo Shrago

Best Use of Materials: Mylaya Lindsey

Dream Machine: Gabriel Deluca

Streamlined Award: Alexander Dean

Most Unique: Theo Gottschalk


Wolf (2nd Grade)

1st: Baily Gregovich

2nd: Abigail Gregovich

3rd: Nicholas Stevanovic

Most Creative: Stella Bindernagel

Coolest Car: Orna Brodie

Best Craftsmanship: Simone Tornatore

Best Use of Materials: Dominic Doubrava

Dream Machine: Graham Grippando

Streamlined Award: Levi Upton

Most Unique: Quinn Cooper


Bear (3rd Grade)

1st: Cade Ogles

2nd: Oliver Voboril

3rd: Chase Mellers

Most Creative: Willow Thomas

Coolest Car: Evan Yamanaka

Best Craftsmanship: John Shim

Best Use of Materials: Joseph Anastasi

Dream Machine: Matthew Tretola

Streamlined Award: Wilson Frisbie

Most Unique: Bodie Lohnes


Webelos (4-5th Grade)

1st: Archie Cooper

2nd: Nicolas Psathas

3rd: Sebastien Swain

Most Creative: Pierce Tindle

Coolest Car: Valentino Storm

Best Craftsmanship: Jack Danelo

Best Use of Materials: Gus Leonard

Dream Machine: August Hutchison

Streamlined Award: Vincent Doubrava

Most Unique: Raphael Centeno

Start typing and press Enter to search