Scouts BSA Advancement

Scouting’s advancement program remains structured yet flexible. Scouting provides a series of surmountable obstacles and the steps to overcome them through the rank advancement method. Each Scout plans their advancement and progresses as challenges are met.

Rank advancement is one method used by Scout leaders to help youth fulfill the aims of Scouting: character development, citizenship training, and mental and physical fitness.

Rank Advancement

After being awarded the Scout badge by completing the joining requirements and participating in a Scoutmaster conference, there are six ranks that are earned sequentially: Tenderfoot, Second Class, First Class, Star, Life, and Eagle. Once the Scout completes the skills, participation and leadership requirements for each subsequent rank, the Scout participates in a Scoutmaster conference and a board of review. At a board of review, a Scout meets with an adult panel in an informal setting, presents their completion of requirements and answers questions.
Learn More »

Merit Badges

Scouting offers over 130 merit badge opportunities to learn new skills, ranging from outdoor oriented endeavors like camping, to science and technology exploration through robotics. With exposure to a uniquely hands-on learning experience, Scouts unlock a world of discovery around them.
List of Merit Badges

Religious Awards

Each of the 34 major religions have organized an Emblem program that adherents can pursue to strengthen their faith.

Trail To Eagle

To earn the Eagle Scout rank, the highest advancement rank in Scouting, a Scout must fulfill requirements involving leadership, service, and outdoor skills.
Learn More » 


Start typing and press Enter to search